Health & Social Care

OCR Cambridge Nationals in Health and Social CareĀ 

Health and Social Care is taught as part of the Social Science curriculum. In common with other Social Science subjects, it aims to develop in students a critical and evaluative approach as we strongly believe that knowing how (different) people see the world allows our learners to make sense of the world, ask questions of it and know how to change it.

Health and Social Care provides learners with the language to explore the the role of the health and social care professions and the part they play in shaping and reacting to society.

Health & Social Care

Viewing the health and social care services from the perspectives of a variety of stakeholders allows learners to critically evaluate its effectiveness. A critical understanding of the current debates in health around funding, private versus state provision will allow our learners to fulfil an active role in the future of health and social provision, their place in that future and the ability to recognise where change is needed and how to facilitate it. You will learn about empathy and respect and understand care values in a health and social care setting.

These transferable skills are also applicable to a wide range of graduate careers both within and outside the Health and Social Care sector. Post-16 students have the option of studying Health and Social Care either as a Single Award (equivalent to 1 A level) OR as a Double award (equivalent to 2 A levels).

Flexible choice of courses:
Extended Certificate = 1
A level Diploma = 2 A levels

A minimum of five subjects at grade 4 (or above) including Maths at grade 4 (or above) and English Language at grade 5 (or above) for both the Single and Double Award.

There will be a number of assessment styles, such as assignments, external tasks and written exams. These will ensure that students are given the confidence to apply their knowledge and have the study skills to continue their learning onto further or higher education courses and succeed in future employment.

During Year 12, students will complete either 2 or 4 units depending on their chosen course.

Extended Certificate:
Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development (Exam)
Unit 5: Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs (Coursework)

Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development (Exam)
Unit 2: Working in Health and Social Care (Exam)
Unit 5: Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs (Coursework)
Unit 12: Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs (Coursework)